PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual-booting and shared drives

Mostly Harmless Eccentric
November 19th, 2008, 02:01 AM
Hello, all. Glad to meet you, and more than relieved to find there's a nice, active community. I'm not really a newbie anymore, but I'm certainly less than a seasoned master. So go slow, please. :) Anyways, I've got a little project in mind I'd like your esteemed input on.

First, what I've got here to start: I've got one laptop running Hardy. At the moment, there's about 8GB swap space, and just shy of 250GB in Ubuntu's partition, with about 60GB actually occupied.

Second, what I'm doing and why: I've been very satified with Linux's functionality as a media sort of system, and want to keep it on as such, since it's very useful to have most things organized and friendly the way Ubuntu tends to arrange it, but to be able to access that extra power and customizability when it's needed. But a couple years ago, I'd started picking up some languages and writing some basic code, before other obligations squeezed out my new hobby. I've been wanting to get back into it, and so I wanted to dual boot with another distro, likely Red Hat, since I wanted something a little more specialized for the job, and something where that wouldn't have all my music and PDF books and games to distract me. I want essentially Ubuntu for playing around and media, Red Hat for technical tasks. However, I need them to share files. For example, I make a sound effect in Audacity on Ubuntu, then I'll want to send it to Red Hat to be used in whatever I'm working on. I don't want to have to copy all this stuff and have it exists in two places on the hard drive and waste space. So I decided on an extra partition just for data, that'll be ext3.