View Full Version : [all variants] [SOLVED] network name

November 18th, 2008, 02:47 PM
is it possible to use a different Host Name other than the computer's name?

for e.g : my computer name is : goofy-laptop , when I connect to my router is see it like that under the 'DHCP Table' , but is it possbile to keep the computer name as is , and change the host name?

November 19th, 2008, 12:16 AM
yes , sort of , check /etc/hostname file...:)

November 19th, 2008, 03:48 AM
You can configure /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.conf to send a different name to tor router via the send host-name "my computer"; option. I may be missing the distinction between "computername" and "hostname".