PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Live USB

hndrk
November 17th, 2008, 01:47 PM
Hi,

is there any tutorial on how to make a Live USB of ubuntu (as well as some documentation on it)? Also, would anyone know what size of flash USB should be used at minimum?

Thanks,

hndrk

skintythe1andonly
November 17th, 2008, 02:03 PM
Are you on Hardy or intrepid?? Intrepid has a build in utility for making a live USB. It is easy to use. It even gives you the choice of saving files then to the USB drive...an option you dont have with a Live CD.

hndrk
November 17th, 2008, 02:44 PM
Hi,

I'm doing a coding project on Hardy through VMWare (I'm new to linux) and in order to make it more portable I can either transfer the VM to hdd (as it will be 8-10GB) or use a Live USB (I have 1GB and 4GB USB drives).

I think the Live USB would be a great option for me and it would save me carrying around a portable hdd.

Is the Live USB feature only in 8.10? I'm downloading the iso right now. Also, is there any documentation on the features of using the Live USB i.e. what are its pros and cons?

Thanks,

hndrk

Zimmer
November 17th, 2008, 03:01 PM
http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2007/05/16/usb-pendrivelinux-install-tutorial/

This site contains numerous tips, tricks and pitfalls and many tutorials for various USB installs. Well worth a read...

C.S.Cameron
November 17th, 2008, 04:36 PM
A Live USB install using USB-Creator uses 700 MB minimum without persistence. (same for Unetbootin).
A Full install starts at a little over 2 GB.

sirjoebob
November 17th, 2008, 07:02 PM
I would use intrepid as it has an option to create a USB boot disk from the administration menu.

skintythe1andonly
November 17th, 2008, 08:01 PM