PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Making a transition from windows..

Linuxperiment
November 15th, 2008, 02:44 PM
Hello all. I'm transitioning from windows and I'm very new to Linux (Xubuntu). I have the most recent version of Xubuntu, and I have a few newbie questions. I've tried google searching and I can't find sufficient answers for a lot of my questions, so please bear with me. (Note: I'm typing this on my XP laptop, not on my Linux laptop, because I can't get a wireless connection)

1. How do I get to use the Power Management that you see when you hit the "Help" button? I believe it's called GNOME Power Management, and on the screen, it has settings that lets you control CPU speed and stuff. The one I have right now just has settings for dimming the screen, and shutting down when battery is low.

2. I can't seem to get it connected to the wireless network. I did a few google searches and it keeps telling me to use an fdisk command. When I open up the command prompt and type what they say in, it tells me its unrecognized. If it helps, the text before I type in the command says <grub> or something along those lines.

Thank you guys in advance.

Additional Questions: (if you guys don't mind)
4. In power management, I set the laptop to do a blank screen if I close the lid. When I close the lid is completely messes up the screen (it's not black/"blank"). Any reasons why, and if so, is there any way to fix this or should I set it to "Do Nothing" when I close the lid?

5. How do I disable the double-clicking feature on the Touch Pad? (I only want to be able to double click with the buttons)

EDIT #2: If it helps anyone with these questions, I'm using an old Latitude D400.
EDIT #3: Question 3 was answered.

FreewheelinFrank
November 15th, 2008, 02:51 PM
1) System>Preferences>Power Management

jmmL
November 15th, 2008, 02:53 PM
I'm afraid I might not be of much help, but I'll try anyway.