PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] trouble with loading from cd

shadowseeker
November 15th, 2008, 11:25 AM
hiya people, i am very new to linux and ubuntu, i am trying to load it from cd on my main computer but all i get is busybox v1.1.3 and i dont know what to do from there. i downloaded the disk from the ubuntu site and i have had it booting from cd on my laptop so i know it works.is there some command i have to type in to get it working
thanx

Peter09
November 15th, 2008, 11:29 AM
Hi Shadowseeker,
BusyBox is often the result of a poor CD. You seem to suggest that you have been booting from the CD on other systems, might be worth checking that it is still bootable from them.

What are the specifications of the machine with the problem.

CPU?
Mem?

What is the O/S and CD you are using, is it the LiveCD and Ubuntu Hardy or Intrepid?

What error messages are you getting?

shadowseeker
November 15th, 2008, 11:59 AM
hiya, im running a amd athlon 64 dual core 4200+ with 2 Gig ram and a 300 Gig hard drive.
ive just tried running the disk on another machine and it wont even boot on that let alone bring up busybox....guess i'll just have to burn another disk

blackened
November 15th, 2008, 12:01 PM
This is a common problem. Try burning it at a slower speed, 4x usually works well for me.

shadowseeker
November 15th, 2008, 12:03 PM
is there a program that people tend to recommend for burning....im using nero

Peter09
November 15th, 2008, 12:15 PM
Not sure fr Windows, plenty of options in Linux:)

Just burn it slowly and check it if you can get to the menu when it boots.

blackened
November 15th, 2008, 12:21 PM
I prefer GnomeBaker.

endokendo
November 15th, 2008, 12:32 PM
Hello everyone, I have the same error message during install on an old desktop PC (Intel Celeron, speed = not sure, has a 20 GB hard drive, 256 MB RAM, originally had Windows ME on it and it is able to surf the web). The error message is as follows: