PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] GRUB Problem



CJ Master
November 15th, 2008, 12:47 AM
Howdy!

Well I love ubuntu, and decided to try fluxbuntu because it sounded a lot faster....

Well I didn't care for it too much so I went back to normal ubuntu.

The problem? Well if I just turn on my computer and do nothing, it'll automatically boot to fluxbuntu, but i want it too boot to ubuntu here.

oh yes, btw I don't mind uninstalling fluxbuntu, i just don't know how. And yes, I've tried startup-manager, but it still doesn't want to boot straight here.

MasterSander
November 15th, 2008, 12:51 AM
1. Pop in the Live CD, boot from it until you reach the desktop.
2. Open a terminal window or switch to a tty.
3. Type "grub"
4. Type "root (hd0,4)", or wherever your /boot is located (my /boot is at /dev/sda5, the same as my root dir, which translates to hd0,4 for grub).
5. Type "setup (hd0)", or whatever your harddisk nr is.
6. Quit grub by typing "quit".
7. Reboot.

CJ Master
November 15th, 2008, 12:53 AM
1) Does it have to be from the live cd? 2) If so, does it have to be ubunbu live cd or fluxbuntu?

adult swim
November 15th, 2008, 12:53 AM
step 3.5) find /boot/grub/stage1

that will show you what to type in for step 4

epswinde
November 15th, 2008, 12:59 AM
Before you go monkeying around with grub (not something I recommend)-- are you sure its a boot loader problem? Did you install ubuntu from a live-cd or just use the package ubuntu-desktop?

Duck2006
November 15th, 2008, 01:05 AM
Some info on grub.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/hermanzone/p15.htm

CJ Master
November 15th, 2008, 01:05 AM
Before you go monkeying around with grub (not something I recommend)-- are you sure its a boot loader problem? Did you install ubuntu from a live-cd or just use the package ubuntu-desktop?

I installed ubuntu first, from a live cd yea.

epswinde
November 15th, 2008, 01:13 AM
I installed ubuntu first, from a live cd yea.

So do you have both gnome and fluxbox installed on the same root file system? or do you have two different instances of linux (one ubuntu, one fluxbuntu) with different root partitions?

Because if you've got the second case, then you'll need to configure grub. If you've got the first case, then you just need to just select a different session at the login screen in fluxbuntu.

CJ Master
November 15th, 2008, 06:05 AM
So do you have both gnome and fluxbox installed on the same root file system? or do you have two different instances of linux (one ubuntu, one fluxbuntu) with different root partitions?

Because if you've got the second case, then you'll need to configure grub. If you've got the first case, then you just need to just select a different session at the login screen in fluxbuntu.

Well, quite honestly, I don't know. :P How do i find out?

adult swim
November 15th, 2008, 06:07 AM
post the output of
sudo fdisk -l

CJ Master
November 15th, 2008, 06:26 AM
Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x38ef9d17

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 16593 133283241 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 23685 24321 5116702+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda3 * 16594 23684 56958457+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda5 23993 24321 2642661 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6 23685 23992 2473947 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order
cjmaster@cjmaster-desktop:~$

adult swim
November 15th, 2008, 06:30 AM
have you ever partitioned your hard drive for anything?

CJ Master
November 15th, 2008, 06:42 AM
Yea, I origionally had a partition of windows and ubuntu, I wiped out windows though, forgot how.

And I assume that fluxbuntu and ubuntu is a partition?

caljohnsmith
November 15th, 2008, 03:15 PM
I see you have two linux partitions, sda1 (~133 GB) and sda3 (~57 GB). Do you know which is the Fluxbuntu partition? One way you can find out which partition is controlling Grub in the MBR (Master Boot Record) is with:

sudo dd if=/dev/sda bs=1 skip=1049 count=2 2>/dev/null | hexdump | awk '{print $2}'
If that returns "ff00", then sda1 controls the MBR, but if you get "ff02", then sda3 is in control of the MBR. Since you want your original Ubuntu to have control of the MBR again, just do:

sudo grub
grub> root (hdX,Y)
Where (hdX,Y) should be (hd0,2) if you got "ff00" above, or it should be (hd0,0) if you got "ff02" above, and then continue with:

grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit
Please post the output of all the above commands, reboot, and let me know if you get your original Ubuntu Grub menu back. If not, let me know what problems you run into. :)

CJ Master
November 16th, 2008, 08:19 PM
Thanks for all your help, but I just did a clean install using all the hd space anyways, so problem solved. :P