PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] [SOLVED] Ram Memory



JuanIgnacioT
November 14th, 2008, 05:32 PM
Hey everyone!!! well Im really new at this and ive been interested in ubuntu since i heard of it. Im using xubuntu right know and ive noticed that even when im not doing something, ram monitor is still showing me 296mb out of 1G being used. is that normal? is there a way to use less or cleaning the memory? ive got no idea about it.. plz help out a lil bit. thanx in advance... by the way, my laptop is an inspiron 1420 if it makes a difference. thanx...

mjwhitfield
November 14th, 2008, 05:33 PM
unused RAM is wasted RAM.

lswest
November 14th, 2008, 05:35 PM
Hey everyone!!! well Im really new at this and ive been interested in ubuntu since i heard of it. Im using xubuntu right know and ive noticed that even when im not doing something, ram monitor is still showing me 296mb out of 1G being used. is that normal? is there a way to use less or cleaning the memory? ive got no idea about it.. plz help out a lil bit. thanx in advance... by the way, my laptop is an inspiron 1420 if it makes a difference. thanx...

it may seem like you're not running anything, but the window manager and some other programs (network manager or so) will still need some RAM. It really depends what you have running at startup (bluetooth, etc.). And really...296MB of 1GB of RAM is nothing compared to Vista's 700MB/2GB of RAM on my laptop, or XP's roughly 300-400MB. I wouldn't worry about it.

oldos2er
November 14th, 2008, 06:41 PM
"ram monitor is still showing me 296mb out of 1G being used. is that normal?"

Yes.

JuanIgnacioT
November 14th, 2008, 07:19 PM
Hey thanx a lot, I was getting worried for nothing i guess... im surprised how quick the answer was. lol! Ill keep trying things in this laptop but so far xubuntu rocks!! now regarding a ram clean up or something? any idea?

LowSky
November 14th, 2008, 07:47 PM
open a terminal and type
top
it will tell you what applications are using up your memory, If you like post the infor here and we can tell you how to either dislbe it or if it need to run. After you type top hit ctrl+c to have the program stop running. then you will be able to copy and paste. to copy in terminla you need to use CTRL+SHIFT+C, paste CTRL+SHIFT+V

JuanIgnacioT
November 14th, 2008, 08:27 PM
thanx,
ok, here it is... well, i guess


top - 13:22:15 up 1:22, 2 users, load average: 0.02, 0.06, 0.01
Tasks: 113 total, 1 running, 112 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 0.5%us, 0.5%sy, 0.0%ni, 99.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 1024000k total, 499644k used, 524356k free, 14108k buffers
Swap: 2996080k total, 0k used, 2996080k free, 193864k cached

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
5239 root 20 0 344m 20m 9144 S 1 2.0 0:35.94 Xorg
4648 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 1 0.0 0:00.38 kondemand/0
4969 haldaemo 20 0 6260 4252 3424 S 1 0.4 0:04.06 hald
5098 root 20 0 3440 1064 912 S 1 0.1 0:02.12 hald-addon-stor
9301 juan 20 0 90300 23m 10m S 1 2.3 0:00.58 xfce4-terminal
9361 juan 20 0 2416 1144 884 R 1 0.1 0:00.16 top
9148 juan 20 0 136m 56m 20m S 0 5.6 0:09.69 firefox
1 root 20 0 3056 1884 564 S 0 0.2 0:02.26 init
2 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kthreadd
3 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/0
4 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.22 ksoftirqd/0
5 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/0
6 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/1
7 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.30 ksoftirqd/1
8 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/1
9 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.04 events/0
10 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.04 events/1

anjilslaire
November 14th, 2008, 09:03 PM
now regarding a ram clean up or something? any idea?

what is it you're trying to 'clean up'. 256 used from a gig is nothing. Linux isn't like Windows where you need anything extra to free ram up...

LowSky
November 14th, 2008, 09:13 PM
Juan from what I see everything that is running is ok. firefox is causing a good spike but that's normal. If Firefox seems to be running slow, google: Firefox hacks. It will show you some things you can do to speed up the browser.

bodhi.zazen
November 14th, 2008, 09:23 PM
Linux is not windows, they handle ram much differently.

See these links for additional information :

http://gentoo-wiki.com/FAQ_Linux_Memory_Management

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-175419-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-0.html?

JuanIgnacioT
November 14th, 2008, 09:30 PM
Thanx everyone for everything, it has been of great help for me and hopefully for many beguiners that have just migrated from "the man" lol. i will be trying to help the community as much as you all did with me (as soon as i become fully capable of doing so, of course!) thanx again, xubuntu rules!