PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] firefox question



eddietours
November 14th, 2008, 02:46 PM
you guys know like when using safari you type a domain name and it will find the site for example like you type just cnn and it would bring cnn right up how to do that on firefox

mikewhatever
November 14th, 2008, 02:52 PM
I've never used Safari, so guess I don't know, but when I type cnn in FF's address line and hit enter, cnn.com just opens.

OneRingShort
November 14th, 2008, 02:54 PM
You should be able to do the same thing in Firefox. I think it just does an automated Google search and brings you to the first result. I don't think it's as fast as some of the other browser's versions, but it should still work. Alternatively, I think there is an addon that combines the search and navigation bars into one and should improve on its functionality.

eddietours
November 14th, 2008, 03:10 PM
thanks for the reply but which add could that one be

EssexEagle
November 14th, 2008, 03:30 PM
Just typing 'cnn' automatically opens www.cnn.com for me as well. I think it's Google Toolbar that does it.

aysiu
November 14th, 2008, 03:56 PM
Google
i'm feeling lucky about:config firefox