PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problems in ibex with my kinstone webcam...

kristiansuhl
November 14th, 2008, 01:14 PM
Hello!

I've been using ubuntu on my hp pavilion dv1263ea for a couple years. I upgraded from hardy heron to intrepid ibex and now my USB-webcam stopped working.

When I had the hardy heron the webcam worked just fine without any installation needed. Now - with intrepid ibex - I cannot get it to work! The system does not seem to "find" my webcam in the new ubuntu version... :-(

Is this a bug or have some kind of library or driver been taken out of the distribution?

I have:
hp pavilion dv1263ea
intrepid ibex
USB kinstone pc camera KS-188P
(it's not "kingston")

I was thinking that maybe one of you guys could help me with this, I have no idea how to solve this little problem.

Thanks alot in advance!

Kristian

Vadi
November 14th, 2008, 03:13 PM
If you're using Cheese for the webcam, try going to preferences and lowering the resolution.

I had the same issue - it was working fine before but stopped now. Turns out the driver was 'lying' about which resolutions the camera was supporting (2 highest simply didn't work), and programs were of course trying to use the best resolution possible.

kristiansuhl
November 14th, 2008, 03:59 PM
If you're using Cheese for the webcam, try going to preferences and lowering the resolution.

I had the same issue - it was working fine before but stopped now. Turns out the driver was 'lying' about which resolutions the camera was supporting (2 highest simply didn't work), and programs were of course trying to use the best resolution possible.
I have a standard version of the intrepid ibex I think, when I checked for cheese I saw that it was not installed now, so I installed it to see what would happen. When I go to settings it says "no camera found". I get "no device found" from skype and ekiga as well. :-(

I tried the command "dmesg" in a terminal and when I connect the camera I get this: