PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] port forwarding with speedtouch router



irish66
November 14th, 2008, 02:32 AM
Hi. Looking at Speedtouch site, it seems port forwarding isn't available for linux users. Anybody know any different.
M

cariboo907
November 14th, 2008, 03:31 AM
Networks don't care what OS is running. Have a look at this page:

http://chelydra.dyndns.org/st_resources/

More terminal practice. :)

Jim

irish66
November 14th, 2008, 11:15 AM
Thanks a lot, will try to do it at some stage.
alhough according to http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Thomson-Alcatel/SpeedTouch530/default.htm
I need to set up a static ip addy,and it doesn't show how to do it
with linux.
M

Joeb454
November 14th, 2008, 12:05 PM
Usually this is all done via the router's web interface.

I know mine is anyway

superprash2003
November 14th, 2008, 04:28 PM
you can create static ip via the command line way http://prash-babu.blogspot.com/2008/11/how-to-setup-static-ip-address-in-linux.html or the GUI way ( if you arent running ubuntu 8.10)http://prash-babu.blogspot.com/2008/09/internet-works-on-one-pc-but-not-on_12.html

irish66
November 15th, 2008, 06:35 PM
quote "Step 1 : Go to the Terminal(Applications->Accessories->Terminal)
Step 2 : Then type sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces
Step 3 : Now the interfaces file should open on gedit.
Step 4 : Now look for the line
iface eth0 inet dhcp"

All i get is
lo
iface lo inet loopback

M

irish66
November 16th, 2008, 03:53 AM
Well. still having router problems. But I remembered I also had a netgear modem ie not a router. So switched over to the modem, choose direct connection, and lo and lo and behold I'm on active.
M