PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Dual Install? (I Think)

dj_spooky_07
November 12th, 2008, 01:27 PM
hello, I'm sorry if this has been answered earlier but I am fairly new with Ubuntu. I have a question regarding installation of the OS. I understand that I can run it off of the same hard drive that I am currently using windows on, but I am curios to see if there is any way that, since i have 2 hard drives in my computer, one master the other slave, can I install Ubuntu on the slave drive and choose whether to start in windows or Ubuntu, or should I do somethingg else? Please help, I am really new at this, as this is my first time working with linux based software.

All help will be greatly appreciated.

steve-shinn
November 12th, 2008, 01:30 PM
Yes you can install Ubuntu on another hard drive :-

http://apcmag.com/the_definitive_dualbooting_guide_linux_vista_and_x p_stepbystep.htm

handydan918
November 12th, 2008, 02:00 PM
+1
Ubu on a second HD is no problem. Just don't get gun-shy when the installer asks here to put GRUB-put it on the MBR of the 1st disk. You'll just be borrowing trouble otherwise.

Bartender
November 12th, 2008, 02:27 PM
The Ubuntu bootloader (called GRUB) can handle two separate HDD's just as easily as it does one. If you let Ubuntu auto-install to the second drive GRUB will still place Stage 1 on the first drive's MBR, just like it would with one HDD, and the end result is just as straightforward.
There's one thing you need to be aware of. The Ubuntu installer will recognize your drives as sda and sdb. Make sure to install Ubuntu to sdb, not sda! This will be pretty clear as you're going thru the installation steps.