PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Why can't I watch orignal DVD's ??? need help Please

IrishDom
November 10th, 2008, 08:44 PM
Hi everyone,
I just installed Ubuntu 8.04 on a new computer with only ubuntu as my OS . My problem is this : I can not watch orginal dvd's , when I put in a bootleg dvd for the first time it downloaded the codecs but when I put in the orginal it says "unable to open" why??? Is there a new player that I should get ?? Like I said I am completely new to Linux.. And I want to be able to use it . I do not want to have to revert to MircoCrap
thankyou for your help

Ryadt
November 10th, 2008, 08:49 PM
Make sure that you have ubuntu restricted extras installed.

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

Also get the medibuntu repos
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu

sirebral
November 10th, 2008, 09:08 PM
This will help: http://www.ubuntugeek.com/playing-encrypted-dvds-in-ubuntu.html

Eventually problems like this will end. DMR is a faulty service as it is right now, and DVD encryption follows suit partially.

The main reason there is no DVD decryption available for Linux distros is because it is proprietary and from what I understand there is no deal with the OS developers. You have the right to watch your DVD though, so while they can't offer it to you because of Copyright Laws, you can download it.

As for DMR, that system is so faulty to begin with. Know your rights concerning DMR (Digital Media Rights). DMR is a 'robotic' device that has been instituted to protect the rights of the Artists, but in it's development it is neglecting the rights of the End User. Because DMR is instituted by the Labels, and the distributor needs to provide the DMR Protection, the End User is getting screwed over. Case Example would be when Yahoo! Music collapsed, taking their DMR servers, and the end user certificates, down with it.