PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] apt-get install unmet dependencies, but i already have newest version

killerguppy101
November 10th, 2008, 05:55 AM
I'm trying to apt-get install apache2-threaded-dev, but keep getting unmet dependencies errors, which i followed to here:

apt-get install libpq-dev
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
libpq-dev: Depends: libpq5 (=8.3.1-1) but 8.3.3-0ubuntu0.8.04 is to be installed

apt-get install libpq5
libpq5 is already the newest version.

I'm pretty new to ubuntu, so I don't really have any idea where to start, but it looks like I should already have the dependencies required. I've tried searching google as best I can, but to no avail. I'm ultimately trying to get APXS2 on my system if that helps any.

loell
November 10th, 2008, 06:07 AM
chances are the packager for libpq-dev, might have made a typo.

where it should be >= and not just = to meet the dependency.

or unless theres a compeling reason why its done that way.

killerguppy101
November 10th, 2008, 10:55 PM
So how can I fix this? Every source I find says I need to recompile apache2 with the apache2-threaded-dev package to enable apxs, but I can't get the apache2-threaded-dev package. Is there a way I can force it to download and install the package, and just ignore the error messages? Like I sais, I'm new to ubuntu and linux altogether, so I'm not sure of my options.

loell
November 10th, 2008, 11:43 PM
maybe you can fix it, by recompiling libpq-dev

1. download the source

apt-get source libpq5

2. download the necessary tools for re-packaging

ubuntu-dev-tools

3. edit the control file

gedit postgresql-8.3-8.3.4/debian$/control

change the part

Depends: ${shlibs:Depends}, libpq5 (= ${binary:Version})

to

Depends: ${shlibs:Depends}, libpq5 (>= ${binary:Version})

then save it.

4. rebuild

dpkg-buildpackage -b -uc

5. install the newly generated libp5 dev debs

killerguppy101
November 12th, 2008, 09:35 PM
Almost, but not quite. I assumed you meant