PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] zip files

devilleather
November 9th, 2008, 07:38 PM
hello ,Ok so im new to linux and i have a file on my desktop that i downloaded.I need to know how to get this file installed so i can use the program. the file on my desktop is called rconnect4-007-source.zip.So i extracted the files to my desktop and it created a folder called Rconnect. In this Rconnect folder contains the files Rconnect.s|n,Rconnect.suo,.Which of these files do i need to execute and how do i run it in a cli. I just want to get the program running. IM learning alot on my own but this seems to be a big problem im having(installing programs,as i dont know how to do it or the commands)THX

MasterSander
November 9th, 2008, 07:46 PM
make sure you downloaded the source. If there are only two files in the folder I'd recheck (make sure you got the source, make sure it unzipped right,...)

If you've done that, launch up a terminal and navigate to the folder, log in as root (sudo -i)

type ./configure --> that will check if you got all the correct librairies installed for compiling. if that gives you errors, get the missing librairy.

If everything was allright type make --> this will compile the source into a program

Now you've already compiled the program, now we have to move it to the right folder, type make install.

devilleather
November 9th, 2008, 08:13 PM
when i type ./configure --> I get
-bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
root@brandon-desktop:~#

devilleather
November 9th, 2008, 08:15 PM
I think I might have been in the wrong folder. The file is on my desktop so is that the folder i need?

MasterSander
November 9th, 2008, 08:19 PM
cd /home/yourname/desktop --> that should get you on your desktop. Type ls and check for the folder, then navigate to the folder and type ls and then type ./configure, post some output here so I can check if you're doing it allright

devilleather
November 9th, 2008, 08:28 PM