PDA

View Full Version : Communication between two C programs.

Big_Nose
November 9th, 2008, 07:18 PM
Hi guys. As the title suggests, I'm trying to pass data from one C program to another, in real time. One of the programs is generating XYZ co-ordinates of an object in space, that change every second (or any specified update rate).

A second program needs to take this data and does some maths on it. Now I know I could easily do this in a single program, but I do need these to run as two separate programs, running in two separate terminal windows (for reasons that are a bit complicated to go into).

So far, all the methods I've Googled have either been communication between two processes (but from the same program), or they require one program to finish what it's doing and close, before the data is sent (not real time).

Please, has anyone got any ideas of how this can be done, I'm fairly new to C, so some example code that I could copypasta would be fantastic!

Thanks very much in advance!

Cracauer
November 9th, 2008, 07:22 PM
"Real time"? What exactly do you mean by that? Do you want the data transparently shared? Use shared memory.

You can open two terminals in one program.

dribeas
November 9th, 2008, 07:38 PM
So far, all the methods I've Googled have either been communication between two processes (but from the same program), or they require one program to finish what it's doing and close, before the data is sent (not real time).

Usual solutions to your problem (I don't know how you did not come to them through google) are shared memory, pipes, sockets or some higher level communication system (CORBA, ICE, ...) I don't have samples, nor the time to work on them, but google for it and you'll find plenty of them.

gnusci
November 9th, 2008, 10:10 PM
I did something like that long time ago with MICO:

http://www.mico.org/

tom66
November 9th, 2008, 11:35 PM
I don't know if this works, so...