PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] partitions

fcf
November 8th, 2008, 05:58 PM
As an absolute beginner to linux, I'm trying to install Ubuntu EEE from a usb key into an EEE 901 Linux 20 GB. I'm stuck with the "Prepare partitions" screen. I don't know what I'm supposed to do. Please help me.

Thanks

ggaaron
November 8th, 2008, 07:25 PM
Can't you do the recommended option - use the whole disc and partition it automatically? If you want something more advanced or specific then don't be afraid to ask, but you must give us more information so we can help you.

mapes12
November 9th, 2008, 10:34 AM
- use the whole disc and partition it automatically?

and once you have everything installed then move /home to a separate partition to keep everything safe in the future: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=46866

ggaaron
November 9th, 2008, 02:23 PM
Err, if you want a separate home partition you can do this with a few clicks when installing (isn't it default behaviour anyway?), doing this later is stupid as it involves unneeded complexity.

mapes12
November 9th, 2008, 03:57 PM
(isn't it default behaviour anyway?)

No it isn't. The installation defaults to the "Guided - use entire disk" option. For someone new to Ubuntu they would naturally go with the default. As I did when I first started with Ubuntu. Therefore, if the system has install with /(root) and /home on the same partition it is good practice to move it. Hence my previous post pointing to the HowTo.

ggaaron
November 9th, 2008, 05:34 PM
Ok, haven't seen Ubuntu installer for a while;) Still if someone is new to this it's a lot easier to do a home partition in GUI by dragging some handles instead of using cryptic commands in the console, if it wasn't no one would have written this GUI and if Ubuntu team does a good job so you don't have to know the console then why not use stuff they come up with?

mapes12
November 9th, 2008, 05:46 PM