PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No carrier using hsfmodem

uganda
November 8th, 2008, 06:06 AM
I am new to Linux/Ubuntu (want to switch from Windows) and have installed 8.10 yesterday and finally set up wvdial and pppconfig, but apart from 2-3 times where I could dial up, I am getting no carrier, even though the Windows laptop next to it can always dial up using the same cable (plug out of the Ubuntu laptop and into the Windows laptop to try).

Yesterday, I got the free hsfmodem driver to work, so I paid $20 for the full, fast version, thinking everything's sorted now and I can finally switch to Linux (I've had a gutsful with Windows, lost some data last week - last straw!).

It worked a few times - here's the wvdial output:

--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATM1L1DT086727234
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATM1L1DT086727234
CONNECT 115200
--> Carrier detected. Waiting for prompt.
** Lucent APX Terminal Server **
...and so on, login, etc...

but now I always get

--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT086727234
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT086727234
NO CARRIER
--> No Carrier! Trying again.

...there's a very long wait before the "NO CARRIER".

The other main difference is, when it worked, I could hear the dial tone and the dialing, but now I can't hear it do anything. I have not changed the config since, here's wvdial.conf:

[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Modem Type = Analog Modem
Baud = 115200
New PPPD = yes
Modem = /dev/modem
ISDN = 0
Phone = 086727234
Password = ***
Username = ***