PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Network manager not connecting to wired network since upgrade to Intrepid

Rebajas
November 5th, 2008, 11:55 PM
I've just recently upgraded to Intrepid and coincidentally my wired network now no longer connects.

When I plug the cable in, the taskbar icon spins as if it will connect but then just gives up with a warning balloon. I have tried booting with the cable in and that makes no difference.

I'm a bit new at all this (3-4 years of fumbling around in the dark) so if you need more info I'd appreciate if you tell me what I need to get that info.

Other than that Intrepid seems great - so pleased that my 3G mobile broadband worked automagically that I didn't notice I had no wired network :)

Thanks!

Smeags
November 6th, 2008, 04:03 PM
Rebajas,

Can you give some of your system specs? I had a problem with my wired connection with the Intrepid Live CD initially. My problem was solved by updating my motherboard's BIOS.

I don't recommend you try this as your first fix option, but by providing us with some specs maybe we can take a step forward.

superprash2003
November 6th, 2008, 05:23 PM
post output of ifconfig from your terminal..

RMOP
November 9th, 2008, 04:07 PM
I hope this brings some consolation. I had the same problem, or one very close to yours. Mine is partially solved.

My upgrade just yesterday was actually a full re-installation, and initially my eee PC had no wireless -- no surprise there. Got that working w/o resorting to Madwifi, and both wired and wireless were working fine. If I plugged in my CAT5 cable, it bumped the wireless connection and registered itself with my router. If I unplugged the cable, the wireless kicked in and grabbed an IP address. Life was sweet. For a few hours...