PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Networking two computers with the same username?

warped0ne
November 4th, 2008, 05:40 AM
I'm trying to share folders over a router on my desktop (Ubuntu 8.10) and my laptop (Ubuntu-Mobile). The desktop username and the laptop username are the same (e.g. johndoe), will this be a problem.

I've already tried NFS, and it didn't work using a tutorial I found at mybeNi (http://mybeni.rootzilla.de/mybeNi/2007/how_to_set_up_nfs_and_how_to_share_files_in_a_loca l_network_with_ubuntu_linux/).

Would Samba work better? or is there something with a GUI that would be easier?

Thanks for any help.

cariboo
November 4th, 2008, 05:59 AM
NFS is a lot easier to setup than samba, try this howto:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=249889

You can set up each computer to be a server and a client.

Jim

warped0ne
November 4th, 2008, 01:52 PM
Isn't there something easier? I'm new to Linux and the only networking experience I have is with Windows and in Linux with Hamachi + Samba. I tried the instructions at the above recommended link, but I don't know:

a) what my servername is.
b) what my domain name is.
c) what "/files" is referring to (I just want to share my entire /home folder from my desktop with my laptop).

k9fe
November 4th, 2008, 01:58 PM
I am running 5 linux machines, mix of UBUNTU 8.04 and 8.1. Using the same user name on all, just different netbios machine names. Not a problem. My shares are done in SAMBA since there are also 5 Windows machines on my home network. Never had a problem.

Good Luck, Mike

k9fe
November 4th, 2008, 02:00 PM
Sorry, forgot the second part. Install the SAMBA GUI and it is very easy to configure.

Mike

warped0ne
November 4th, 2008, 02:14 PM
Sorry, forgot the second part. Install the SAMBA GUI and it is very easy to configure.

Mike

I'm looking through Synaptic now and I don't see a Samba GUI. Does it have a different name, or do I need to go to Samba's website to get it?

Thanks

eks