PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mail server spaming?


kpzani
November 3rd, 2008, 06:58 PM
Hi all

I have a hardy server running postfix. It doesnt accept smtp connections from outside my network and collects mail from my isp via fetchmail. I have had a few emails which look like they come from my server

headers -

Return-Path: <buk@bradleymotivation.com>
X-Original-To: kriszani@localhost
Delivered-To: kriszani@localhost
Received: from dumbledore.hogwarts.local (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by dumbledore.hogwarts.local (Postfix) with ESMTP id 89D2DCB62C5
for <kriszani@localhost>; Mon, 3 Nov 2008 22:06:48 +0000 (GMT)
Envelope-to: kriszani@iscavision.com,
kriszani@iscavision.com
Delivery-date: Mon, 03 Nov 2008 22:06:01 +0000
Received: from tintern2.dsvr.co.uk [212.69.199.79]
by dumbledore.hogwarts.local with POP3 (fetchmail-6.3.8)
for <kriszani@localhost> (single-drop); Mon, 03 Nov 2008 22:06:48 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from [85.172.49.228] (helo=home-dbd219661e)
by tintern2.dsvr.co.uk with esmtp (Exim 4.62)
(envelope-from <buk@bradleymotivation.com>)
id 1Kx7YH-0005Xz-Uo; Mon, 03 Nov 2008 22:06:01 +0000
Received: from [85.172.49.228] by inbound.homesteadmail.com; Mon, 3 Nov 2008 14:05:36 -0800
Message-ID: <01c93dbd$3e4b3800$e431ac55@buk>
From: PayPal@dumbledore.hogwarts.local, service@intl.paypal.x.com
To: <kriszani@iscavision.com>
Subject: Getting Started with your PayPal Anti-Fraud Protection
Date: Mon, 3 Nov 2008 14:05:36 -0800
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0007_01C93DBD.3E4B3800"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2180
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2180
Delivered-To: kriszani@tintern2.dsvr.co.uk

This is a multi-part message in MIME format.

------=_NextPart_000_0007_01C93DBD.3E4B3800
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable


my server's hostname is dumbledore.hogwarts.local

so my question is, does the guy sending this know what my server name is already. or is it likely that postfix or fetchmail sees a malformed address e.g. Paypal and sticks the domain name on the end.

all comments appreciated.

Kris

lavinog
November 3rd, 2008, 07:12 PM
I am guessing it was automatically attached. I wonder why though. It seems that it will cause problems for spam blockers.

kpzani
November 4th, 2008, 06:02 AM
yup that was my gut instinct too. but it's purely a guess.

any ideas how i could check the logs for this.

i looked in the mail.info but all i see is two related lines as its passed to me from fetchmail.

cheers

Kris