PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help, Please!

sherri
October 31st, 2008, 05:44 PM
Ok. I am totally new to any operating system other than Windows. I have installed the Ubuntu (I think....). On my desktop, there is an icon for something that says: Ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386 Type ISO file.

Now what? When I click on it, I get the message that Windows can't open it...I tried installing it directly, and earlier with WUBI...

I am completely lost, and my Windows is on it's last legs...tried restarting pc...Any help for dummies? Totally lost!

jonnyrockets
October 31st, 2008, 06:38 PM
hi sherri,

what you have downloaded is an iso , or image file. think of it as one big file that contains all of the ubuntu information for an install.

when you install ubuntu, you are changing your OS (operating system). you would be using ubuntu instead of windows. (there are options to install within windows, but this can get complex).

to try out your linux distribution, you need to burn that iso image file to a cd. this must be done in a specific way - you must use an option within your burning program such as "burn image to disk" or "burn disk image".

once this is completed, you put the cd in your cdrom drive, and reboot your computer.

hopefully, your computer will automatically boot off of the live-cd. if it doesn't, you need to change your boot priority to boot off of the cdrom drive before it boots the hard drive.

sherri
November 1st, 2008, 03:53 AM
hi sherri,

what you have downloaded is an iso , or image file. think of it as one big file that contains all of the ubuntu information for an install.

when you install ubuntu, you are changing your OS (operating system). you would be using ubuntu instead of windows. (there are options to install within windows, but this can get complex).