PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] firefox profile manager?

h4nn4h
October 27th, 2008, 05:38 PM
Hey everyone!

I'm very new to ubuntu, I recently installed it and have been running it alongside windows for the last couple of weeks. I've just been looking around, really, doing most of my real work in windows. But I like ubuntu a lot, the idea of open source, and the look of it too. So I want to start using it for real, but it is confusing for someone who has only used windows before. For instance, the first thing I want to do is import all my settings from my firefox in windows. I use the FEBE extension to backup my firefox profile regularly, and it has saved me before when I had to reinstall windows, so I'm guessing I can use that now, too. The only problem is, you have to create a new user profile for firefox to get it to work, and I'm so new to linux that I don't understand the explanation for linux users that is given:

"Close the application completely and make sure that it is not running in the background. Open the terminal and execute cd (program directory) then execute:
(Firefox) ./firefox -profilemanager
(Mozilla Suite) ./mozilla -profilemanager
(SeaMonkey) ./seamonkey -profilemanager
(Thunderbird) ./thunderbird -profilemanager
Alternately, in a terminal type path/to/application -profilemanager"

I know where the terminal is, but other than that I have no idea what to do. Where is the program directory? I hope someone here can help me out with this, and in the mean time I'm going to look for a guide to ubuntu for absolute beginners, so I can get started for real :-) (any tips for a good one are welcome, of course!)

GumboLinux
October 27th, 2008, 05:43 PM
terminal is under applications > accessories > terminal
then you just type in the command for the one you want =]

h4nn4h
October 27th, 2008, 05:50 PM