PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Looking for replacement for WINRAR that will extract partial files.

bobsmith2
October 23rd, 2008, 04:45 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu and am looking for software with a GUI that will enable me to do this: Let's say there's a one hour video file broken up into 30 parts (RAR). I want to be able to download just part #1, extract that piece (which would include just the first 2 minutes of the video), and watch that part of the video using VLC. After watching the first two minutes, I'd decide whether I want to download the rest, depending on video/sound quality, or whatever. In XP I use WINRAR for that. Is there anything for Ubuntu that will enable me to extract just the first part of a video? Thanks.

tCarls
October 23rd, 2008, 06:42 AM
You should just be able to right click on the file and select extract if you have rar and unrar installed (run "sudo apt-get install rar unrar" if you don't). However, there's a bug that keeps it from working if you don't have the complete archive (http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=504584). Hopefully it will be fixed soon. Until then you may need to use the command line (unrar e file.rar -kb), sorry.

Hexagoon
October 23rd, 2008, 07:14 AM
I'm pretty sure that rar dont magically take the first part of the movie and puts it in the first archive. That makes this slightly impossible i think :P

bobsmith2
October 26th, 2008, 12:18 AM
You should just be able to right click on the file and select extract if you have rar and unrar installed (run "sudo apt-get install rar unrar" if you don't). However, there's a bug that keeps it from working if you don't have the complete archive (http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=504584). Hopefully it will be fixed soon. Until then you may need to use the command line (unrar e file.rar -kb), sorry.