PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Updated Ubuntu now Firefox graphics missing.



Statik
October 23rd, 2008, 12:18 AM
My Ubuntu (Hardy) install on my laptop has been running fine for two months until the most recent update. I'm not sure what I updated, but now things are missing in firefox, graphically. I've attached screenshot. I'm thinking it might be nvidia related, but that's as far as I've gotten. Any ideas?

Statik

http://www.statikonline.com/Slides/Firefox-Screenshot.png

Pro-reason
October 23rd, 2008, 12:35 AM
I can see that several graphics are loaded on that screen. What's missing is some styling. Could you have accidentally blocked the CSS file in AdBlock?

Statik
October 23rd, 2008, 12:45 AM
No, the css isn't blocked, but it seems like it might be a standards thing. Other sites, that display correctly, are in Quirks mode. This one is in standards mode and the error console has a bunch of warnings like :


Warning: Error in parsing value for property 'text-decoration'. Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://ubuntuforums.org/clientscript/vbulletin_css/style-3828c0fa-00098.css
Line: 793
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Warning: Error in parsing value for property 'text-decoration'. Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://ubuntuforums.org/clientscript/vbulletin_css/style-3828c0fa-00098.css
Line: 798
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Warning: Expected color but found '#'. Error in parsing value for property 'background'. Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://ubuntuforums.org/clientscript/vbulletin_css/style-3828c0fa-00098.css
Line: 1023
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Warning: Expected color but found '#'. Error in parsing value for property 'background'. Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://ubuntuforums.org/clientscript/vbulletin_css/style-3828c0fa-00098.css
Line: 1052

Thats just some of them. I know I can switch modes... I just have to remember/find out how.

Statik

Statik
October 23rd, 2008, 12:53 AM
Well of all the . . . I was looking through the setting of the Web Developer add-on that I use, looking for the mode switch, and I came across two disabled settings: Page Colors and Minimum Font Size. I didn't set them, but unsetting them brought my pages back!

Marking as solved.

Statik