PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Ubuntu Version

suncoolsu
October 22nd, 2008, 04:10 PM
I am new to Ubuntu. I have a Intel Core 2 Duo Processor. I have a few question about:
- which Ubuntu version to install.
-x86 one or 64 bit one.

- I have burnt a ubuntu 8.04 LTS Desktop Edition(64 bit) cd and tried running ubuntu live but after boot screen no desktop appears :( instead a series of colored lines appear :(.
- is it because of the wrong version (but the site says that the 64 bit version works for Intel and AMD)
- some problem with my cd? (I checked for errors and it says no errors)

- Please help i need to install Linux on my laptop and preferably a 64 bit OS. Are there any other versions of Ubuntu I should look out for? (or a more fundamental question - is there a Ubuntu version for x86-64 bit architecture?)

Thanks for any help
B.

OldGrey
October 22nd, 2008, 04:17 PM
If it is a 64 bit processor the 64 bit version should work. However the 32bit version will work on 64 bit architecture no problem and in my experience with negligible effect on the performance. So you could try the 32bit and see if that works. If not it could be a graphics card problem.

Teamgeist
October 22nd, 2008, 04:17 PM
Since you have a core 2 duo processor the 64-bit Version will work on that.

Your Problem seems to be related to your graphics card.
What kind of graphics card do you have?

Try running the live cd in "save graphics mode mode" (<-- don't remember what it is called correctly, but it is an option in the menu, when the cd is inserted.

bodhi.zazen
October 22nd, 2008, 04:28 PM
You will likely need to install from the "alternate" CD.

First try booting to "safe graphics" mode. If that fails -> alternate CD and post install we will need to install the drivers for your graphics card.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/hermanzone/

suncoolsu
October 22nd, 2008, 05:06 PM