PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] set user permission for share

The_ALL
October 22nd, 2008, 02:00 PM
hi all,
i just install ubuntu desktop.the installation create an user that will write "sudo" before all commands.
But when i use "sudo mount" command,to mount a windows share on ubuntu,i can access to this share only with root user (sudo su) and i can't access with current user.
I always used root when using linux, so i have no experience with sudo comand and user permission.
Can you tell me where i must add/change permission to give access to current user to that share?
Thx

Sarmacid
October 22nd, 2008, 02:16 PM
First find out your uid and gid with the command

id

Then run this

sudo mkdir -p /media/mydisk
sudo mount -o uid=1000,gid=1000 /dev/sdb1 /media/mydisk

But change uid and gid and the device to adjust to your needs.

fr.theo
October 22nd, 2008, 02:23 PM
sudo is the only excepted way, but you can search for a way to change the permission of the directory/drive or file with the chmod command I try to find the right command hold on a sec.

fr.theo
October 22nd, 2008, 02:25 PM
sudo chmod 777 (the directory of file you need to change permission) in this case your windows share. by they way is this on a network or just on a drive, sorry got a head of my self should of asked first.

The_ALL
October 22nd, 2008, 02:26 PM
maybe i wrong explain,i write an example of what i done
------------------------------------------------
$sudo mount -t cifs //"server_windows"/common -o username="windows_user",password="password" /mnt/common
$cd /mnt/common
-bash: cd: /mnt/common: Permission denied
$sudo su
#cd /mnt/common
/mnt/common#ls
pippo
pluto
newfolder
/mnt/common#
------------------------------------------------------
but i want enter in that folder as current user not root
what have to do?

fr.theo
October 22nd, 2008, 02:37 PM
I know i am repeating my self but i am not trying to be rude is it on a local drive or network drive?

The_ALL
October 22nd, 2008, 02:41 PM
sorry