PDA

View Full Version : Problems moving partitions



sgtstadanko
October 22nd, 2008, 01:15 PM
Hey All,

I decided to blow away my Vista installation and am having some boot issues with grub. I have 2 drives. Primary is 80gb (where vista lived) , Secondary 250 GB (ubuntu 8.04). I wanted to move the ubuntu installation to the primary so I could use the secondary as storage. I blew away the first drive with gparted, created and formatted an ext3 partition on /dev/sda1.

I then booted from a livecd and mount both disk1 (sda1) and disk2 (sdb5). I did a:

cp -ax /* /mnt/disk2 - from the disk2 directory (the ubuntu installation)
edit /etc/fstab and changed sdb5 to sda1
edit /boot/grub/menu.lst to add /dev/sda1 as a Moved Ubuntu entry
run update-grub

I verified that all the files copied over to the new partition and that the changes I wrote to fstab where in the correct directory.


However whenever I boot selecting the new grub menu item it always boots and mount the old sdb5 installation.

Here are the contents of my menu.lst and fstab. Maybe someone can see something I missed.


title Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
root (hd1,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=90d22947-b15e-4328-806f-e7bb810224b0 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic
quiet

title Moved Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=90d22947-b15e-4328-806f-e7bb810224b0 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic
quiet




/etc/fstab


# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda1
UUID=90d22947-b15e-4328-806f-e7bb810224b0 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sdb6
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/store ntfs defaults 0 0
UUID=02865f16-9474-4e60-a362-1ab858fb1a0b none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0

ian dobson
October 22nd, 2008, 03:00 PM
Hi,

Did you also edit your menu.lst to use the new UUID?

Regards
Ian Dobson

sgtstadanko
October 22nd, 2008, 04:20 PM
that was it. i had changed the block id in the menu.lst at one point but not fstab.

all is well now.

thanks!

ian dobson
October 23rd, 2008, 06:26 AM
As this is solved, please mark the thread as solved.
It might help someone in the future.

Regards
Ian Dobson

sgtstadanko
October 23rd, 2008, 03:55 PM
Thanks everyone.