PDA

View Full Version : encrypted qam for linux? drm monopoly for vista media center



sdowney717
October 17th, 2008, 12:51 PM
http://www.floppyhead.com/2007/11/29/how-cablecard-drm-benefits-microsoft/

curious if linux can compete in this space.
Can linux be used with encrypted qam?

mrand
October 17th, 2008, 06:30 PM
http://www.floppyhead.com/2007/11/29/how-cablecard-drm-benefits-microsoft/

curious if linux can compete in this space.
Can linux be used with encrypted qam?

From what I've read, even on Windows, people have a tough time getting Cable Card to work. Not only that, but I believe you can only get it on certain (expensive) computers from certain vendors, with certain software. And not only that, but with cable card, there are still some things you can't get. Check out
http://www.timewarnercable.com/Corporate/products/digitalcable/CableCARD.html
They promised OpenCable (aka CableCARD 2.0) a year ago... but supposedly even that isn't want we want. Digital Cable Ready Plus (DCR+) is (or was) being pushed for by the non-cable companies. Read more about this here: http://gandronics.com/rberry/?m=200804

In short, the cable companies are doing the bare minimum they have to in order to comply with the federal regulations, because it isn't in their best interest to do anything different. They'd rather you rent a cable box from them (yet another monopoly they have going).

And the above ignores switched video, and having to possibly deal with getting a "tuner adapter" so that you can see the channels.


Marc

newlinux
October 17th, 2008, 06:57 PM
http://www.floppyhead.com/2007/11/29/how-cablecard-drm-benefits-microsoft/

curious if linux can compete in this space.
Can linux be used with encrypted qam?

Well if you mean a Linux computer you can build yourself, nope. But Tivos run Linux :)

But the same is kind of true for Vista. I haven't looked into this in a while, but as pointed out by mrand I don't think you can build your own Vista system for this either - you have to buy a very expensive PC from an OEM vendor to use it, and then IRIC there were serious restrictions on what modifications you could make to the PC.

mrand
October 17th, 2008, 11:21 PM
Yeah, I should have mentioned that most of what I've read about pertains more to XP than Vista. Vista may very well be considerably better.

But I just realized that I may not have addressed the original question. The way you deal with encrypted QAM is to use the set-top box provided by the cable company, and feed the output of that to the Linux box. Hundreds or thousands of people do just that every day.

Lastly, this thread prompted me to discover that the AMD ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner is actually available in USB form. I don't know if they (re)encrypt the stream when it goes across USB to the PC, but it might be a way that could be made to work with enough effort on the driver side.


Marc

sdowney717
October 26th, 2008, 08:58 PM
"No matter what Microsoft does or how far they lag behind the market, you have to use Vista to watch cable premium content on your computer in HD"

what interested me was HD content, OK, say you take the signal from the cable box, can you feed this into the linux PC somehow as HD content and record and watch HD content without any DRM troubles?

HOw would you capture HD output from the box and feed that into a video capture device?

newlinux
October 27th, 2008, 01:39 AM
"No matter what Microsoft does or how far they lag behind the market, you have to use Vista to watch cable premium content on your computer in HD"

what interested me was HD content, OK, say you take the signal from the cable box, can you feed this into the linux PC somehow as HD content and record and watch HD content without any DRM troubles?

HOw would you capture HD output from the box and feed that into a video capture device?

From a cable box you can use Hauppage HD-PVR or firewire.