PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] issue with old bios

bachurch
October 10th, 2008, 07:28 PM
Hi,
i am trying to install ubuntu-8.04.1-server-i386.iso onto an old dell P2 400 Mhz machine. When the cd spins up I get:

[0.000000] acpi: bios age (1999)fails cutoff (2000)
acpi force is required to enable acpi

After a minute i get an error 16 and then the cd boots.
I run through the setup until it gets to the HD detect and it cannot find the HD. I have tried multiple drives including a winME that was in the machine and works.

Do I have to update the bios or can I work around it?

I'm a newbie but I'm trying.

Thanks

cariboo
October 10th, 2008, 09:07 PM
I've install the server and several other distributions on older computers. Usually when the computer can't detect the hard drive it is either due to a cable or jumper problem. Make sure the drive is detected in the bios. Most bios of that age will autodetect the hard drive.

Just as an example I currently have Ubuntu server installed on a 400Mhz eMachine, Dragonfly BSD on a Compaq 350Mhz and DSL on an AST P75.

Jim

bachurch
October 11th, 2008, 12:35 AM
Thanks Jim,
The bios does see the drive (the several I have tried).
Is the error #16 significant?

I agree with the jumper/cable issues. I've see plenty of those.

Brian

louieb
October 11th, 2008, 12:58 AM
Hi, I get:
[0.000000] acpi: bios age (1999)fails cutoff (2000)
acpi force is required to enable acpi

whitebox P2-400, 384MB ram. (built in 1997) Message is normal when Ubuntu starts up. Guess it just some type information message.

I had to flash the BIOS to get it to use a drive larger that 30GB. But for my board the newest BIOS available was dated 1999. So I still get it. Other that I have to press the power button after shutdown, to get it to turn off. Does not seem to have any other problems.