PDA

View Full Version : Gripe about help in the server subforum

Krupski
October 8th, 2008, 08:03 PM
OK, I'm not a mod or admin. And, I'm a newbie. Sorry if I'm stepping on toes, but here it goes anyway.

I've learned a lot about Linux and Ubuntu here and for that I say thanks to all who helped me.

Now, for my gripe:

I have seen a lot or replies for help with cryptic replies like "see man your-problem" or links to web pages.

Being a LONG time computer user, amateur programmer but Linux newbie, I fully understand how a beginner feels.

Even answers like "Go into Nautilus and do this or that" leaves the newbie scratching his head and saying "huh???".

From personal experience at being a Linux newbie, I respectfully suggest the following step-by-step format when posting "help" replies:

========================== sample ==========================

(1) Show code (if necessary)
(2) EXPLAIN what that cryptic line means.
(3) Highlight important parts of code if appropriate.
(4) Don't assume that the user knows anything (and insert an apology if you think over-simplification might be insulting).

Here's an example of what I mean... how to add a custom message to VSFTPD (example post):

Adding a custom message to VSFTPD is easy. At a terminal, run an editor and edit the '/etc/vsftpd.conf' file:

sudo nano /etc/vsftpd.conf

This line means "super user do", nano (editor), the file "/etc/vsftpd.conf" which is the configuration file for VSFTPD.

Next, look for the line that looks like this (about 1/2 way down):

# You may fully customise the login banner string:
ftpd_banner=

Add anything you like as a banner (note ADDITION in red):

# You may fully customise the login banner string:
ftpd_banner=Linux is awesome!!!

Save your changes by typing "control-o" in the nano editor.

Exit the editor by typing "control-x".

Taa-daa! That's it!

========================== sample ==========================

So much for my 2 cents! :)

-- Roger

cdenley
October 8th, 2008, 09:32 PM