PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Script for Automatic File Deletion at Login

robk315
October 8th, 2008, 02:44 PM
First off I am very new to Ubuntu/Gnome so bear with me... I am running Ubuntu 8.0.4 with the Gnome desktop as a LTSP server(K12 School Environment). LTSP clients are logging in automatically to unique local accounts. I need help creating a login script that will delete files and directories in the users Documents folder (this is so students cannot look or use another students work). From a terminal I can use #rm -r -f /$HOME/Documents/* to accomplish this, but I have no idea how to make this run at login. Any help would be greatly appreciated...

caleb12
October 8th, 2008, 03:11 PM
Basically, you want to create a script with those commands in it. Then edit the users .profile or .bashrc files and reference that script - I forgot which one you want to actually edit, I believe you can use either... but google may have a better answer. In either case, the idea is that the .bashrc and .profile scripts are run at login which would then execute the script you want.

Although if I understand your question well enough, you should be able to set the proper UMASK for the user files which would make them unreadable by another user account. The particular umask is set in .profile as well. I think a umask of 066 would produce files readable by only the user that created them, this is adjustable of course.

For your scripting pleasure:
http://tldp.org/LDP/Bash-Beginners-Guide/html/index.html

robk315
October 8th, 2008, 03:25 PM
I am typically used to writing Windows batch files in a 2000/XP environment so this is very new to me. So I put the command into a text editor, do I have to save it to a specific location or with any type of extension? I was thinking about using the session preferences to add this startup script, that way I can copy the users home directory to /etc/skel so the autologin accounts all have this script.

caleb12
October 8th, 2008, 03:45 PM