PDA

View Full Version : gimp vs photoshop questions

zer0efx
October 7th, 2008, 04:52 PM
Good morning everyone!

I wanted to post a thread to get some feedback and see if there any plug-ins or adjustments that can be done to have gimp work a little like PS. I'm a multimedia designer and I've been a win user my whole life and just recently installed the latest release of Ubuntu on my production machine. As I use it more and more, I really like the platform and how fast it runs.

BUT.... being an avid Adobe user, PS has some key elements that Gimp does not (that I know of). One of the biggest missing elements I've seen so far is "layer grouping". Most of my PSD's have 50+ layers and I nest them with very detailed Layer Groups inside of Layer Groups. Working with gimp a little over the weekend, I haven't found a way to do layer grouping and my PSD's that I open, the layers palette is HUGE. Is there a compromise for this?

Also, being a multimedia designer, are there Flash and DW comparable programs to use within Ubuntu? I know there is VI, but that has a huge learning curve and it will take some time to learn all the commands and operate it efficiently. But also, I have over 50+ sites in my DW site directory and would like to see a program that uses maybe the same feature so I can easily change between sites and see my dir tree for those sites.

So, just a few questions. Hopefully I can get some good feedback to help my transition into this platform a little easier.

Thanks for any info or insight! Appreciate it.

lates

HellNoire
October 7th, 2008, 04:58 PM
As a casual designer, I couldn't say anything for sure, but I do believe you could run Flash, Photoshop, and Dreamweaver (all pre-CS3, so CS2 and lower) under Wine. I also know of Nvu/ KomPoZer that both do webpages, but I don't think they'll match Dreamweaver.

Hope this helped.

Half-Left
October 7th, 2008, 04:59 PM