PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Appropriate nvidia-glx-new missing from server?

vitreoushumours
October 1st, 2008, 10:32 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I installed 8.04 on my laptop recently (an HP TX2000z convertible tablet PC.) When I first got into Gnome it told me that I needed to install Nvidia-glx-new in order for my video hardware to work properly. The download failed, so later I went into the Synaptic Package manager, clicked it, selected to install, then hit apply and download and I get this error:

"W: Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/restricted/l/linux-restricted-modules-2.6.24/nvidia-glx-new_169.12+2.6.24.13-18.41_i386.deb
404 Not Found"

I get the same error if I go to System -> Administration -> Hardware drivers and attempt to install the nvidia-glx-new there.

I am connected to the internet via ethernet because I have not yet got my Wireless card working.

If I navigate to http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/restricted/l/linux-restricted-modules-2.6.24/ I find that indeed there is no "nvidia-glx-new_169.12+2.6.24.13-18.41_i386.deb" listed there. (Though there is a "nvidia-glx-new_169.12+2.6.24.12-16.34_i386.deb " and a "nvidia-glx-new_169.12+2.6.24.13-19.45_i386.deb"

Is there any way to update this so that it is looking for a current file location?

Can I download "nvidia-glx-new_169.12+2.6.24.13-19.45_i386.deb" and intall it to resolve the problems with my hardware?

Any advice? Thanks. :)

lian1238
October 1st, 2008, 10:40 PM
IMO, I think you should go to nvidia.com (http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html) and download the driver for unix and install it manually.

vitreoushumours
October 2nd, 2008, 05:56 AM