PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] [SOLVED] Trouble accessing some websites..



toallpointswest
September 30th, 2008, 11:41 AM
Hello all,

I'm still having trouble accessing a few websites. I tried the fix from this forum http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=4132456&postcount=5 but it hasn't helped. I dual boot, and the Windows drive can get to all of the sites but my Hardy cannot. I connect through a Comcast branded Linksys WCG200v2-CC using a Realtek nic.

Sites like CNN.com, NBC.com, ABC.com don't come up but Ubuntuforums, and nearly everything else does. I'm stumped!

rlzyoner
September 30th, 2008, 02:12 PM
Can you telnet to the problem sites on port 80

telnet www.cnn.com 80

superprash2003
September 30th, 2008, 05:27 PM
try switching your dns servers to opendns . their ips are 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220
for reference : http://prash-babu.blogspot.com/2008/04/how-to-configure-dns-servers-in-linux.html

toallpointswest
October 1st, 2008, 04:11 AM
Can you telnet to the problem sites on port 80

telnet www.cnn.com 80

I tried that and here was the result:


xx@xxxxx:~$ telnet www.cnn.com 80
Trying 157.166.224.26...
Trying 157.166.226.26...
Trying 157.166.255.18...
Trying 157.166.224.25...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused


This also answers the DNS question as CNN's address resolves. I just can't get there (or rather have traffic get back). Oddly, this works fine in Windows on the same system.

superprash2003
October 1st, 2008, 04:47 PM
what happens when you type 157.166.224.25 in your browser

toallpointswest
October 2nd, 2008, 11:38 AM
what happens when you type 157.166.224.25 in your browser

I get

Failed to Connect













Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 157.166.224.25.







Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection.

* Could the site be temporarily unavailable? Try again later.
* Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
* Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.

We know it's not a DNS problem, as the sites all resolve. I think it has something to do with the sysctl settings. In my first post there are some settings in sysctl, does anyone know what they mean?

superprash2003
October 2nd, 2008, 04:35 PM
try installing opera from synaptic and then try surfing..

toallpointswest
October 6th, 2008, 11:27 PM
try installing opera from synaptic and then try surfing..

I would but if telnet didn't work, why would a different client help? I doubt this is a layer 7 issue.

toallpointswest
October 11th, 2008, 12:53 PM
SOLVED! Turns out that it was a bad firewall rule on my system somehow. I started up Firestarter, reset all the rules and viola! Works like a charm!