PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] [Vala] Interfaces not working?

pikkio
September 28th, 2008, 07:32 PM
Hi! I'm new to Vala (http://www.vala-project.org) programming, and actually I'm reading the tutorial right now.

I'll go right to the point: I can't get Interfaces working. Bear in mind that I'm quite comfortable with the Java programming, so it's not a matter of understanding the OOP principles behind interfaces.

Despite that, I can't get compiled even this example code from the tutorial!

using GLib;

public interface ITest {
public abstract int data_1 { get; set; }
public abstract void function_1();
}

public class Test1 : ITest {
public int data_1 { get; set; }
public void function_1() {
}
}

public class Test : Object {

public static void main(string[] args) {
Test1 t = new Test1();
t.function_1();

ITest i = t;
i.function_1();
}
}

These are the two errors I got:

pikkio:vala % valac -o interfaces interfaces.vala
interfaces2.vala:22.13-22.13: error: missing class prerequisite for interface `ITest'
ITest i = t;
^
interfaces2.vala:22.3-22.7: error: missing class prerequisite for interface `ITest'
ITest i = t;
^^^^^
Compilation failed: 2 error(s), 0 warning(s)

Thanks in advance for any suggestion.

P.S. On my Hardy installation I've got the 0.3.5 version of Vala libs

Quikee
September 28th, 2008, 09:21 PM
Looks like you have hit this (http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=547362). Mind that Vala is still not in a stable state.

pikkio
September 28th, 2008, 10:45 PM
@Quikee: Thanks, I'll post a comment on that bug. Anyway, I'm perfectly aware of Vala's beta state, and it's still doing a damn awesome job at version 0.3.5 :-)

Besides of that, I can't figure out why an official example code doesn't even compile :confused:

Quikee
September 29th, 2008, 06:16 AM
Besides of that, I can't figure out why an official example code doesn't even compile :confused:

Which example? This is possible because examples aren't checked regularly.

pikkio