PDA

View Full Version : What's going on with Daily builds?



Kosimo
September 26th, 2008, 11:14 AM
Last daily build is from 3 days ago.
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/daily-live/current/
Any particular reason why the building team has stop building iso's?

Thank you

OrangeCrate
September 26th, 2008, 11:29 AM
Beta freeze?

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/IntrepidReleaseSchedule



For the preparation of the beta release (see BetaProcess), uploads for packages in main and restricted are held in the queue and are subject to manual approval of the release team. The purpose is to stabilize the archive, allow the archive administrators to consolidate it and fix package inconsistencies, and be able to fix critical bugs quickly and in an isolated manner.

alienexplorers
September 26th, 2008, 11:41 AM
I don't know why, I have been wondering about this myself. I like using the daily builds. Forgot all about the beta freeze.

Kosimo
September 26th, 2008, 12:27 PM
I don't think that a beta freeze is the reason. I'm experiencing a booting error (so I can't try intrepid) and I was trying to get the latest daily build to see if it has been fixed... But looks like I have to wait

Perpetual
September 26th, 2008, 04:38 PM
I don't think that a beta freeze is the reason. I'm experiencing a booting error (so I can't try intrepid) and I was trying to get the latest daily build to see if it has been fixed... But looks like I have to wait

Kosimo, still no luck getting the live cd to boot? I am in the same boat as you. Have you tried any other distros that are using the 2.6.27 kernel? I have tried Fedora and Mandriva and neither will boot...just like Ubuntu. I am wondering if it's a kernel issue and/or nvidia issue. I'm not knowledgeable enough to figure this out on my own though.

plun
September 26th, 2008, 04:41 PM
I don't think that a beta freeze is the reason. I'm experiencing a booting error (so I can't try intrepid) and I was trying to get the latest daily build to see if it has been fixed... But looks like I have to wait

Where is your bug report about your problem with your PC ?

If everyone just hope that a daily build fixes things "automagic" its
impossible...

Perpetual
September 26th, 2008, 04:42 PM
Where is your bug report about your problem with your PC ?

If everyone just hope that a daily build fixes things "automagic" its
impossible...

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/272155

plun
September 26th, 2008, 05:08 PM
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/272155

Good !

If possible, is 8.04 OK ?


"For anything hardware related, give precise details about your hardware. Attaching the output of "lspci -vvnn" and "dmesg", after a fresh boot, will help a lot."

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ReportingBugs

It is also filed against "Ubuntu" and this is probably a kernel issue
because of Busybox.

Perpetual
September 26th, 2008, 05:09 PM
Good !

If possible, is 8.04 OK ?



It is also filed against "Ubuntu" and this is probably a kernel issue
because of Busybox.

Yes, for me, 8.04 boots fine. I can also boot Fedora 9, Mandriva 2008 and openSuse 11. For me, it seems anything with the 2.6.27 kernel is a fail.

Kosimo
September 26th, 2008, 05:26 PM
Where is your bug report about your problem with your PC ?

If everyone just hope that a daily build fixes things "automagic" its
impossible...

Oh really? I though that there is some magic about Ubuntu that fixes everything only thinking about it... :roll:

Talks about this bug: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=924202

Bug submitted in launchpad: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/272155

Kosimo
September 26th, 2008, 05:28 PM
Kosimo, still no luck getting the live cd to boot? I am in the same boat as you. Have you tried any other distros that are using the 2.6.27 kernel? I have tried Fedora and Mandriva and neither will boot...just like Ubuntu. I am wondering if it's a kernel issue and/or nvidia issue. I'm not knowledgeable enough to figure this out on my own though.

Let's talk about it on the previous topic (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=5860140#post5860140) . And the answer is no still not working :(