PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Drivers???

kingtut35
September 25th, 2008, 03:14 PM
Ubuntu doesn't recognize my ethernet card. I have a p5ql pro asus motherboard and i have the drivers but i'm new to linux and i dont really know how to install drivers. I finally got this installed to dual boot with xp after a long night of changing ide to ahci without reinstalling xp. Now i need a little more help please

aeiah
September 25th, 2008, 03:28 PM
are you sure it doesnt? go in the terminal and type
ifconfig

it should tell you what's available. ethernet will be eth0 or eth1

Bölvağur
September 25th, 2008, 03:31 PM
ndiswrapper is the program you need to use. It makes windows drivers for wireless cards work on linux.

You can find everything you need by searching these forums, try search words like "wlan0 windows driver" wlan0 is often the logical name of your wireless hardware, other can be simply just "wireless".

But all you probably need to do is install ndiswrapper from synaptic package manager found under System → Administra... → Synaptic Packa...
(note that I was lazy and wrote ... instaed of letters ^^ )

Then open ndiswrapper either by typing ndiswrapper in terminal or find it under applications in the menu. When you are asked where the windows driver is then you have to browse to it and press ok.
ndiswrapper will then tell you if the driver is ok or not.

other threads will give you more detailed information so please search this forum if you run into problems

PierreDeKat
September 25th, 2008, 03:38 PM
Yeah, ditto what Bölvağur said.

Bölvağur
September 25th, 2008, 03:40 PM
commands that might help you realize what the computer detects.

iwconfig
ifconfig

and you might want to add parameters behind each. found out by typing --help after the name of the program

like: ifconfig --help

I know this is confuseing but perhaps it will be useful later on (like 1 month from now)

kingtut35
September 25th, 2008, 04:37 PM