PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I have Clearwire ISP and can't get connected

SeaKona
September 25th, 2008, 12:25 AM
I have Ubuntu and Vista as a dual boot on my pc. I can access the web from windows but nothing from Ubuntu. I am a newbie and had to struggle just to get as far as getting Ubuntu on my PC but now I am stuck with getting an internet connection. My ISP is Clearwire.

I have read that many others are having problems with Clearwire and Ubuntu. I called Clearwire for their help support they told me the system supports linux but they don't have tech support for it.

Looking for any solutions (other than switching back to Comcast)

Marti

lwvmobile
September 25th, 2008, 12:31 AM
Can you give us a little detail on how you connect in Windows? Is Clearwire a Cable, DSL, Satellite provider? Do you have a static or dynamic ip address? Do you need to use special software in windows or do you use a protocol like PPPOE?

I don't know why you wouldn't be able to get an ISP working, unless it requires special software or a special hardware modem or something.

:popcorn::KS

lwvmobile
September 25th, 2008, 12:35 AM
OK I just googled it, its a cellular provider.

Your best bet may be using ndiswrapper combined with the drivers they have on their website. Hopefully the authentication onboard the adapter so that is functions more like a gateway/router than a network card so we can eliminate special software.

BTW, whats your Ubuntu knowledge level? Complete Novice, Beginner, or Intermediate?

crazyone
September 25th, 2008, 12:36 AM
do u got the clearwire pcmcia card or the modem form them cause i got the modem and it works great in linux

SeaKona
September 25th, 2008, 01:13 AM
I am very new to Ubuntu, I am using Hardy Heron 8.04 I am using Clearwire modem not the PCMCIA card. I have been able to connect directly to the modem with Vist without any software and I have also been able to connect through with my D-link wireless router.
Marti

NewDisciple