PDA

View Full Version : The quest for new package versions

Erwin Van de Velde
November 21st, 2005, 12:21 AM
Dear all,

First of all, I'm new to the Ubuntu community, leaving the Mandriva Cooker community due to some annoying issues (not in the least broken repositories and some weird package choices). I was attracted by some reviews and the very lively community.

I'd like to have a system that has new software (hence the former use of Cooker), but in combination with a working system: e.g. the new KDE 3.5 would be nice when it is officially released as KDE is most of the time really stable on official release but the new Xorg 6.9 before it has been declared stable by the Xorg people (as Cooker and even Mandriva 2006 did) can (and in fact did) break working systems... and even on a shiny new system I still have some work to do too you know :)

So I'd like to know something more about the Ubuntu update policy and all I found was fragmented and confusing.
I found about the Ubuntu update policy that a released distribution like Breezy only gets security updates and really zero feature updates, is this correct?
What about the backports? What is backported, when (no Breezy backports yet), etc?
How stable is Dapper? Is it really bleeding edge like in beta software or is it bleeding edge as in the newest releases?

Last question:
Is it easy to maintain a mixed system (e.g. Breezy-Dapper)? Howto's? And is this recommendable for my needs? This of course only in the case that Dapper is to unstable and Breezy+backports to old for an adventurous guy like me ;)

Thanks a lot!
Erwin

SSTwinrova
November 22nd, 2005, 01:25 AM
So I'd like to know something more about the Ubuntu update policy and all I found was fragmented and confusing.
I found about the Ubuntu update policy that a released distribution like Breezy only gets security updates and really zero feature updates, is this correct?
What about the backports? What is backported, when (no Breezy backports yet), etc?