PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help for PS3 Ubuntu!

aeubz
September 23rd, 2008, 03:48 PM
Hi I'm new to all of this and I'm switching from YDL. I was wondering for my PS3, which one of the following I should install. Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, or Edubuntu. And whats the difference between them? Also, whats the difference between the non-live and alternative? I'm reading and getting info from https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PlayStation_3 .

Which link do I use ???? :)

tuxxy
September 23rd, 2008, 03:53 PM
I would go with Ubuntu as I prefer the GNOME desktop, Kubuntu provides the KDE and xubuntu is a lighter version of ubuntu great for older hardware

The Live CD lets you run Ubuntu first without installing it, great for trialing the OS. Your PS3 should be capable of running any so its up to you.

tarps87
September 23rd, 2008, 04:00 PM
The none-live and alternative cd's are the same thing, they are text based installers. Which version of Ubuntu you use is up to you, id suggest Ubuntu, Kubuntu or Xubuntu. Edubuntu is more based towards schools.
Ubuntu is the default with the gnome environment
Kubuntu uses the kde environment
Xubuntu uses xfce and is designed for slower systems.

I plan to install Ubuntu this weekend when I get my ps3 :)

Edit: If you are using a standard TV (not HD) you should use the alternative/none-live cd to install it

damis648
September 23rd, 2008, 04:06 PM
I have Ubuntu installed on my PS3, it works quite well... of course, on hi-def because 640x480 is not exactly useful... :-). Just have a look at the Wiki (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PlayStation_3), and I would reccomend Ubuntu Gnome because its not too light or not too heavy for a PS3 (it only has 512MB RAM). The reason, by the way, only 7.10 is on the wiki is because 8.04 is not available for PS3. Sorry.

damis648
September 23rd, 2008, 04:09 PM
Edit: If you are using a stranded TV (not HD) you should use the alternative/none-live cd to install it