PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] hostname not detected by router

Mighty_Moose
September 23rd, 2008, 08:37 AM
Hey everyone. I'm kinda new to Ubuntu, but I'm trying to set it up so that I only have to type the hostname into putty on my windows machine to be able to log in to it. Accessing it with the ip address works just fine, but my router (2wire) doesn't seem to be detecting the hostname. I know it's possible, how do I go about setting this up? Thanks!

ds[de]
September 23rd, 2008, 11:45 AM
This is probably not exactly what you're looking for, but it's a quick workaround.

If you edit (in Windows) the file %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts you just have to add a single line. For example if you want to access your ubuntu computer via the hostname 'ubuntu' and the IP of said computer is 192.168.1.1, just add the line

192.168.1.1 ubuntu

Now Windows resolves the hostname 'ubuntu' to IP '192.168.1.1' without refering to your router's dns cache.

PS: %SystemRoot% means your Windows installation folder, in many cases this is C:\Windows or C:\WinNT

Regards,
ds[de]

Mighty_Moose
September 24th, 2008, 05:47 AM
Oh ok. Hehe, yeah that's not exactly what I was referring to, but thanks for the input ;)

I have setup a server before where, no matter what router it was hooked up to, it would broadcast it's hostname to it, and the router would pick it up and associate the hostname with that IP address. I just want to be able to type the hostname into putty (on any computer connected to my network) and be able to log in to my server. If all else fails I'll give your suggestion a try though ;)

alphacrucis2
September 24th, 2008, 05:53 AM
Oh ok. Hehe, yeah that's not exactly what I was referring to, but thanks for the input ;)