PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] nVIDIA somthing or other...



MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 05:29 AM
I just installed ubuntu and I keep trying to change the visual effects to normal and it cant do it? Anyone ever get this? I could use the help..

TriSwords
September 23rd, 2008, 05:30 AM
Have you enabled restricted drivers if it is an nVidia card?

System > Administration > Hardware Drivers

Enable the nvidia driver (not sure the name it will show up as in the list)

Restart, and if all went well it should let you use desktop effects.

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 05:47 AM
Yup tried that, it begins to download but a message pops up saying some error. I also have vista on my laptop and there was an option update for the card so i tried that but it didnt work

neverett
September 23rd, 2008, 05:49 AM
Mine won't install the driver at all after the recent updates today.

Nepherte
September 23rd, 2008, 11:24 AM
If hardware drivers doesn't work, try envy. To install it:

sudo apt-get install envyng-gtk

With this you can install nvidia/ati drivers. To run it in a terminal:

envyng -t
or in a gui:

envyng

I suggest you first choose the option to remove any nvidia driver before installing a new one.

Orange_and_Green
September 23rd, 2008, 11:32 AM
Mine won't install the driver at all after the recent updates today.

I have an nvidia card too and when the update for kernel version 2.6.24-19 came the driver got completely broken. Have you tried loading a previous version of the kernel? (I'm still on 2.6.24-18, I know I should try and see if 2.6.24-19 works by now but I'm just too lazy I guess:lol:)

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 01:32 PM
If hardware drivers doesn't work, try envy. To install it:

sudo apt-get install envyng-gtk

With this you can install nvidia/ati drivers. To run it in a terminal:

envyng -t
or in a gui:

envyng

I suggest you first choose the option to remove any nvidia driver before installing a new one.

What exactly will I be doing if I do this? I know I have the nVidia becuase I have run updates to it through Vista, and Im pretty sure I dont want remove it....

kpkeerthi
September 23rd, 2008, 01:36 PM
envy installs drivers for nvidia cards. It will not remove the driver you already have in Vista.

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 01:41 PM
Thanks everyone, this forum is a lifesaver, would have NO idea whatsoever if not for this!!

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 03:13 PM
Hey I tried to do that command in terminal but when it asks for my password i cant type it in? am I doing something wrong? is there some procedure when typing in terminal?

Mornedhel
September 23rd, 2008, 03:17 PM
The password you enter when using sudo will not show, even as asterisks.

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 03:37 PM
Then how do I know if I entered the right one, will it just accept it?

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 03:43 PM
Nevermind I got it to work but it said some error message did not install anything what to dizzle?

Nepherte
September 23rd, 2008, 04:47 PM
And what is the error message exactly?

SarahMarieNC2
September 23rd, 2008, 04:59 PM
And what is the error message exactly?

I'm having this same problem. I copied my error message. Maybe this is the same one he is getting?



W: Failed to fetch http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/restricted/l/linux-restricted-modules-2.6.24/nvidia-glx-new_169.12+2.6.24.13-18.41_amd64.deb
404 Not Found

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 10:15 PM
Thats the exact same message I keep getting!

anotherdisciple
September 23rd, 2008, 10:21 PM
You may need to make sure you have the backports repository enabled.


sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

Find the backports section and remove the pound sign (#) from in front of those 2 lines.

Then do a:


sudo aptitude update

Let me know if that worked.

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 10:29 PM
I got a list up but I am not sure what exactly im looking at/for

MikesGuitar
September 23rd, 2008, 10:34 PM
I got it! Thanks a lot man

anotherdisciple
September 24th, 2008, 01:15 PM
Cool... did that fix it? I was assuming that is was trying to download software that was in that repo...

SarahMarieNC2
September 24th, 2008, 04:38 PM
Cool... did that fix it? I was assuming that is was trying to download software that was in that repo...

GOsh I hope I did that right. LOL! Yah my back repository wasn't enabled either, had those pound signs in front of them as well. So I hope that fixed it. We'll see in a minute. Thanks!

-----------------------

Edited to Add: Thanks sooo much! This is working. Updating the drivers as I type. Yayyyy! Finally something is going right!