PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Do I need avahi-daemon running all the time?



lovinglinux
September 22nd, 2008, 08:21 PM
The title is self-explanatory. When I run sudo netstat -plntu 2 instances of avahi-daemon shows up associated with ports 5353 and another one that varies. Additionally I have dhclient associated with port 68. None of this services are actually listening, as far as I can tell, but since Windows paranoia is still haunting me I would like to know if these services are necessary, if they can cause any security risk and how can I disable them if they are not necessary?

HermanAB
September 22nd, 2008, 08:46 PM
Avahi and Resolvconf are some of the first things I stop after a new install.

philinux
September 22nd, 2008, 08:55 PM
Avahi and Resolvconf are some of the first things I stop after a new install.

Could you explain why?

lovinglinux
September 22nd, 2008, 09:12 PM
Could you explain why?

...and how? :)

jARLAXL
September 23rd, 2008, 09:02 PM
...and how? :)

i found these hope they can help you out:
why:
http://fixunix.com/networking/328831-what-avahi-daemon.html
how:
http://www.len.ro/work/tools/ubuntu-feisty-fawn-on-a-dell-latitude-d820/disabling-avahi-daemon

lovinglinux
September 24th, 2008, 12:54 AM
Thank you. I will try that and see if I don't get any undesirable effects.

lovinglinux
September 24th, 2008, 01:05 AM
Didn't worked. Avahi is still there.

seeker5528
September 24th, 2008, 01:45 AM
Avahi and Resolvconf are some of the first things I stop after a new install.

I can understand wanting to stop avahi.
Why stop resolvconf?

Later, Seeker

jARLAXL
September 24th, 2008, 05:07 PM
Didn't worked. Avahi is still there.

think they changed the /etc/default/avahi-daemon file
try services from system and disable avahi from there.

lovinglinux
September 24th, 2008, 06:06 PM
think they changed the /etc/default/avahi-daemon file
try services from system and disable avahi from there.

I tried that before and didn't worked but now works. Weird.

Thanks.

Todamont
December 28th, 2011, 04:36 AM
ok now the question is: what is resolvconf and do I need it?

CharlesA
December 28th, 2011, 05:00 AM
ok now the question is: what is resolvconf and do I need it?
Create a new thread with your question.

This one is over 3 years old.