PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] noob help...



jic12
September 22nd, 2008, 02:24 AM
Just downloaded ubuntu. I could not get it to install. I went through all of the steps, then my computer goes to reboot but it does not load from the hard drive. My computer on has 128 mb of ram. I did not realize that My computer does not meet the minimum requirements. It has a Pentium 4(2.4 ghz), 40 gb hd, and 128 mb ram. Can anyone tell me if the ram is why my computer goes through the installation process, but won't load the os. I have plans on upgrading, but I didnt want to shell out the money untill i know it works. thanks

Partyboi2
September 22nd, 2008, 07:43 AM
With 128mb ram have you considered install xubuntu (http://www.xubuntu.org/) using the alternate cd?

jic12
September 22nd, 2008, 12:24 PM
I'm going to upgrade my ram, I just wanted to know that it worked before i spent money on it

dijxtra
September 22nd, 2008, 01:14 PM
What exactly happens when you finish the installation process and reboot? Did you eject the CD after installing?

jic12
September 23rd, 2008, 12:21 AM
i talked to a friend of mine. he said that he thinks there is a program saved to the bios. I eject the disk, and it loads something from novell.

lukjad007
September 23rd, 2008, 12:34 AM
Are there any other operating systems installed on the PC? Also, does the Novell screen show up almost as soon as you press the power button on the PC? If so, I think it is jsut the BIOS splash sceen and nothing to worry about as long as Ubuntu installs normally.

jic12
September 23rd, 2008, 04:04 AM
Are there any other operating systems installed on the PC? Also, does the Novell screen show up almost as soon as you press the power button on the PC? If so, I think it is jsut the BIOS splash sceen and nothing to worry about as long as Ubuntu installs normally.

There is no os. Novell shows up as soon as i turn it on. I think ubuntu installs right, but it won't boot.

lukjad007
September 23rd, 2008, 12:16 PM
When you say it doesn't boot, does that mean that you don't see anything after the Novell screen or that you cannot login?

Also, maybe Xubuntu would work better on your PC since it is lighter on your computer.

dijxtra
September 23rd, 2008, 06:42 PM
There is no os. Novell shows up as soon as i turn it on. I think ubuntu installs right, but it won't boot.

Can you take a photo of that Novell screen?

jic12
September 23rd, 2008, 11:46 PM
I was planning on upgrading ram and hd today, but my motherboard is not ddr2 compatible. I will take a picture the next time that i mess around with it. It will be this weekend. I dont have a monitor cable.

Partyboi2
September 24th, 2008, 02:59 PM
You could always install xubuntu and when you get more ram install ubuntu desktop packages.

jic12
September 26th, 2008, 10:44 PM
So, I'm just going to start from scratch and build a whole new system inside my case. I'm posting the components I'm thinking of buying and putting together to build this new system to serve as a home Server. Would you guys please look through these specs and let me know if there are any problems or incompatibilities with this system idea, Thanks in advance!


+++ SAPPHIRE PE-AM2RS690MH AM2 AMD 690G HDMI Micro ATX AMD
Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813154014

+++ AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket
AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103773

+++ OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2
800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227267

+++ Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB
Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148274

jld186
October 1st, 2008, 12:45 AM
Are there any other operating systems installed on the PC? Also, does the Novell screen show up almost as soon as you press the power button on the PC? If so, I think it is jsut the BIOS splash sceen and nothing to worry about as long as Ubuntu installs normally.

Hey, thanks. that was what the novell screen was, just his bios. we finally got ubuntu to start up once...but anywho, not enough ram.

lukjad007
October 3rd, 2008, 12:09 AM
Glad to help. If you do manage to increase the RAM, consider using the Alternate CD to install, if you feel comfortable doing so. It takes longer but is more efficient and requires less RAM for the installation.