PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help settin up "home" to shared partition

saffagirl
September 21st, 2008, 11:18 PM
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new at the whole Linux thing, but am loving it. i've used part magic to create a shared ntfs data partition with the intention of using this for music, docs, videos etc.
Basically have partition a) Vista 35gb
b)Shared partition 170GB
c)Ubuntu 25gb

so what I'm wanting to do is get all music , video, openoffice , pictures to automatically save in default folders ie like //data/music ; //data/videos ; //data/docs on this partition for shared access . what's the best way to do this?

Thanks in advance:)

lswb
September 21st, 2008, 11:44 PM
It appears you already have the /data directory mounted and accessible from ubuntu, is that right? If so, create the directories on the ntfs /data drive. You can use the usual commands from either linux or windows, cd /data/music, cd /data/videos, etc. or use a gui file browser to create them. I'm not sure how ntfs permissions work or how they translate to Linux & ext3, but for read/write access by all users, set them accordingly. If you need help with the ntfs permissions maybe someone else can help with that part, or check the man pages for mount and fstab.

Say you've made /data/music and /data/videos. In you users home directory make symlinks to these directories like this:

ln -s /data/music music
ln -s /data/videos videos

You could make these links on the Desktop if you prefer or any other convenient place. In the programs you use to download or create these files, set preferences to use the appropriate directory as the default.

AndyCooll
September 21st, 2008, 11:50 PM
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new at the whole Linux thing, but am loving it. i've used part magic to create a shared ntfs data partition with the intention of using this for music, docs, videos etc.
Basically have partition a) Vista 35gb
b)Shared partition 170GB
c)Ubuntu 25gb