PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How can I get a clean install of 8.04?

ahuman
September 21st, 2008, 05:19 AM
Hi,

I upgraded to 8.04/Hardy Herdon today and have nothing but problems using Flash. How can I re-install it and get a fresh start? Also, can I re-install Gutsy?

Please answer with step-by-step instructions. I'm new to Ubuntu.

wolfen69
September 21st, 2008, 05:23 AM
see this (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installing) to install ubuntu. it's pretty easy.

vishzilla
September 21st, 2008, 05:23 AM
What exact problem do you have with Flash? If you can solve the problem, you can save a fresh install

wolfen69
September 21st, 2008, 05:25 AM
What exact problem do you have with Flash? If you can solve the problem, you can save a fresh install

it would not hurt for this person to learn how to install ubuntu.

vishzilla
September 21st, 2008, 05:26 AM
it would not hurt for this person to learn how to install ubuntu.

that's his wish. we gave two options! ;)

Therion
September 21st, 2008, 05:27 AM
Before you go and do a fresh install, have you tried simply removing Gnash from your current install?
I was having no end of problems with every Flash related until I fully uninstalled Gnash.

Go to System/Administration/Synaptic Package Manager and search on "Gnash". Right-click on anything Gnash related you have installed and remove it.

See if that help with your Flash problem. Beats doing a reinstall if it works.

ahuman
September 21st, 2008, 05:44 AM
My problem is that I have a 64-bit architecture that Flash player won't support. In short, I'm miserable. I've spent hours trying to unravel what the problem is. Everything was fine until I upgraded to Hardy today. One second I was watching YouTube vids with no problem, the next I'm being told to load Flash again.