PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Noob Looking For Help With Wireless Internet Connect



Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 08:37 PM
I've got Ubuntu Hardy installed on my Gateway Desktop and I'm trying to set up the wireless internet. I've got this machine as a dual boot and I'm able to connect to the internet wirelessly through my Windows XP OS but I'm completely stuck on how to set up with Ubuntu. Mind you I am a complete and total noob and I'll try not to sound to stupid when asking for help.

Thanks tons for the opportunity to learn from you folks!!!!

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 08:42 PM
No one sounds stupid when they are looking for help. You will find people on this forum happy to help. Run this from a terminal:


sudo lshw -C network

We need to know what wireless chipset you have. Then we can recommend a solution.

phidia
September 20th, 2008, 08:43 PM
Do you have any drivers in System > Administration > Hardware Drivers that need to be selected/enabled? If not or that doesn't help then open a terminal from Applications > Accessories and enter
lspci -v Post the output from that here.

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 09:00 PM
monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ lshw -c network
Hardware Lister (lshw) - B.02.12.01
usage: lshw [-format] [-options ...]
lshw -version

-version print program version (B.02.12.01)

format can be
-html output hardware tree as HTML
-xml output hardware tree as XML
-short output hardware paths
-businfo output bus information

options can be
-class CLASS only show a certain class of hardware
-C CLASS same as '-class CLASS'
-disable TEST disable a test (like pci, isapnp, cpuid, etc. )
-enable TEST enable a test (like pci, isapnp, cpuid, etc. )
-quiet don't display status
-sanitize sanitize output (remove sensitive information like serial numbers, etc.)

monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ sudo lshw -C network
[sudo] password for monrizzy:
Sorry, try again.
[sudo] password for monrizzy:
*-network:0
description: Ethernet interface
product: 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 8
bus info: pci@0000:02:08.0
logical name: eth0
version: 03
serial: 00:03:47:d8:95:d2
size: 10MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=e100 driverversion=3.5.23-k4-NAPI duplex=half firmware=N/A latency=32 link=no maxlatency=56 mingnt=8 module=e100 multicast=yes port=MII speed=10MB/s
*-network:1
description: Wireless interface
product: AR2413 802.11bg NIC
vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
physical id: b
bus info: pci@0000:02:0b.0
logical name: wifi0
version: 01
serial: 00:1e:58:95:e7:f9
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list logical ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath_pci latency=168 maxlatency=28 mingnt=10 module=ath_pci multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g
monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 09:08 PM
OK, if you go to System>Administration>Hardware Drivers it is likely you will see a wireless driver you can enable. Ubuntu is recognizing it and has identified the driver for it (ath_pci). This is the kernel Atheros driver.

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 09:11 PM
Yeah it is showing as enabled and when I went to network settings> manual config> wireless connection I saw my network I just can't seem to get on it.

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 09:19 PM
Are you using encryption on your network? Try from a command line:


sudo dhclient wlan0

To see if it will give you an IP address. Also, go to System>Administration>Network and see if you see your wireless shown. If so, try to configure it with the GUI.

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 09:23 PM
monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ sudo dhclient wlan0
[sudo] password for monrizzy:
Sorry, try again.
[sudo] password for monrizzy:
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
Bind socket to interface: No such device
monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 09:26 PM
Type in a terminal:


sudo ifconfig -a

Your wireless may have a different name. Also, did the wireless show up in Network?

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 09:29 PM
monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:58:95:e7:f9
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:58ff:fe95:e7f9/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ath0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:58:95:e7:f9
inet addr:169.254.11.7 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:47:d8:95:d2
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2168 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2168 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:117804 (115.0 KB) TX bytes:117804 (115.0 KB)

wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1E-58-95-E7-F9-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5231 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:82250
TX packets:10504 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
RX bytes:676992 (661.1 KB) TX bytes:483544 (472.2 KB)
Interrupt:18

monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$



Yes the wireless did show up in the network.

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 09:36 PM
OK, your wireless is called ath0. Before you try the dhclient again, since you wireless is showing up, just unlock the GUI with your sudo password, highlight your wireless connection, click edit, and put in the wireless configuration information. DHCP is the easiest, and choose your style of encryption. This should get it working for you. If it doesn't for some reason, try


dhclient ath0

But hopefully, you should be able to get it going using the GUI.

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 09:57 PM
Still doesn't seem to be working Bob. Listed below is the result of "dhclient ath0"


monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ dhclient ath0
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 134519072
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
can't create /var/lib/dhcp3/dhclient.leases: Permission denied
Can't create /var/run/dhclient.pid: Permission denied
drop_privileges: could not set group id: Operation not permitted
monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 10:06 PM
Open a terminal and type:


sudo ifconfig with no parameters

See if an IP address is being assigned.

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 10:15 PM
Yes it does seem to have issued an IP Address from what I can tell.

monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ sudo ifconfig
[sudo] password for monrizzy:
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:58:95:e7:f9
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:58ff:fe95:e7f9/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ath0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:58:95:e7:f9
inet addr:169.254.11.7 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:47:d8:95:d2
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2344 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2344 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:131516 (128.4 KB) TX bytes:131516 (128.4 KB)

wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1E-58-95-E7-F9-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5316 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:186839
TX packets:10612 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
RX bytes:687977 (671.8 KB) TX bytes:488920 (477.4 KB)
Interrupt:18

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 10:21 PM
ath0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:58:95:e7:f9
inet addr:169.254.11.7 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

Well, according to this, you should be up and running. Have you tried opening your browser to see if you are connected? You have an IP address, so you should be connected. Do you know the IP address of your router? If so, try to


ping <ip address of your router

Then, from the command line, try:


ping www.google.com hit Control+C after a few seconds to stop it.

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 10:41 PM
I get this when I ping the router

monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ ping 192.168.0.1
PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 169.254.11.7 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 169.254.11.7 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 169.254.11.7 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
From 169.254.11.7 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
From 169.254.11.7 icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
From 169.254.11.7 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable

And I get this when I ping www.google.com

monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ ping www.google.com
ping: unknown host www.google.com
monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ ping www.google.com
ping: unknown host www.google.com

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 10:50 PM
OK, first problem. If your router is 192.168.0.1, then it would not have assigned (I do not believe) a 169.x.x.x ip address. It would have, like mine, assigned something like 192.168.2.x. Open a terminal and type:


sudo iwlist scan

Lets see if your network shows up. I may have to look into this one to give a better answer. Hopefully, someone else will chime in to help further.

bobnutfield
September 20th, 2008, 11:01 PM
I believe the IP address is being assigned by the avahi daemon and has nothing to do with the router. You appear to be receiving but are not connected to your router. I will find out what I can for you and book mark this page. If no one else has provided an answer before, I will get back to you as soon as I have an answer.

Monrizzy
September 20th, 2008, 11:22 PM
Thanks Bob!

Monrizzy
September 21st, 2008, 01:18 AM
Can anyone else offer any wisdom on this matter?

Monrizzy
September 21st, 2008, 01:23 AM
OK, first problem. If your router is 192.168.0.1, then it would not have assigned (I do not believe) a 169.x.x.x ip address. It would have, like mine, assigned something like 192.168.2.x. Open a terminal and type:

Quote:
sudo iwlist scan
Lets see if your network shows up. I may have to look into this one to give a better answer. Hopefully, someone else will chime in to help further.

monrizzy@monrizzy-desktop:~$ sudo iwlist scan
[sudo] password for monrizzy:
lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

wifi0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

ath0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:1E:58:FC:22:A7
ESSID:"IzzyHome"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality=47/70 Signal level=-48 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
Extra:wme_ie=dd070050f202000100
Cell 02 - Address: 00:13:10:81:1C:53
ESSID:"RevDoc2008"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
Quality=8/70 Signal level=-87 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100

Monrizzy
September 27th, 2008, 12:22 AM
Anybody seen a problem like this before?

Monrizzy
September 28th, 2008, 03:55 AM
Anybody seen a problem like this before?

bobnutfield
September 28th, 2008, 05:23 PM
Try in a terminal:


dhclient ath0

see if it offers an IP address.