PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] steam games

hyperhopper
September 20th, 2008, 07:23 PM
okay, as you all know I am new to linux although loving every minute of it
(including the penguin invasion of my desktop) but now, I have something that might require wine, wich I have no clue on how to use. my question is this, on a windows comp i have tf2 installed and running, but i dont feel like switching my graphics card back and forth every time i want to play tf2
I read somewhere that games run faster on wine in linux on windows
(i have no clue how valid this statement is, just stumbleupon it) but my overall question is this:

How can I run steam games on linux?

oneadvent
September 20th, 2008, 07:26 PM
I use CS and DOD from steam, and you can just go to their website and download the .msi file and install it like normal.

First you will need to install wine tho:

sudo apt-get install wine

some people like playonlinux, but I disagree, wine really works well enough.

Steam works well too.

hyperhopper
September 20th, 2008, 07:49 PM
what is a msi file and how do i install it?

oneadvent
September 20th, 2008, 07:52 PM
dont forget to download sudo apt-get install wine first, then goto http://store.steampowered.com/ and it is on the left side, a green button, just put it on your desktop and double click it like a normal windoze program and it will bring up the installer.

Its pretty simple, just dont over think it.

and an msi file is an installer from windoze, its their attempt to throw off wine I think because it used to not support it at all. :)

hyperhopper
September 20th, 2008, 08:04 PM
why would theyy want to throw off wine?

oneadvent
September 20th, 2008, 08:08 PM
I was kidding actually, I was referring to the fact that for the longest time wine did not support msi files. I was pleasantly surprised one day when it suddenly worked w/o an issue. I mean what is the point of having an msi instead of an exe to install the program?