PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Noob here, Having a couple issues

bulletbikeguy
September 20th, 2008, 03:09 PM
Hey all, I just can't help posting now. I'm at work and the machine that I'm loading Ubuntu on is at home. That being said I have only so much info but I'm excited to learn so I'm posting :)

I have loaded Ubuntu on a 50gig partition on the 200gig hdd that also has XP loaded on it. The machine is a P4 3.2HT with only 512 ram at the moment. It has an Intel MB.

When I tried to post Ubuntu it threw an error code. It allows me to use the setup utility and I can reboot the machine etc from that ďDOSĒ window but I canít get it to load.

I also viewed the loading data or whatever itís called by pressing insert. Among a host of other things it said my bios size is large then the drive size? Doesnít make sense to me because I allotted 10gigs for the OS alone (simply because I didnít want to deal with any space problems)

Let me know what you guys think it could be and Iíll get more info.

Thanks!

Sef
September 20th, 2008, 04:02 PM
1) Moved to Absolute Beginners.

2)
When I tried to post Ubuntu it threw an error code.

Do you mean boot into Ubuntu?

3a)
When I tried to post Ubuntu it threw an error code. It allows me to use the setup utility and I can reboot the machine etc from that ďDOSĒ window but I canít get it to load.

So all you get in a command prompt instead of a GUI (Graphical User Interface); have you installed Ubuntu or just booting from the Live CD?

3b) If installed, what happens if you run the Live CD? Do you have the same problem?

bulletbikeguy
September 20th, 2008, 09:14 PM
1) Moved to Absolute Beginners.

2)

Do you mean boot into Ubuntu?

3a)

So all you get in a command prompt instead of a GUI (Graphical User Interface); have you installed Ubuntu or just booting from the Live CD?

3b) If installed, what happens if you run the Live CD? Do you have the same problem?