View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wiping Laptop Before Installing Ubuntu?

September 20th, 2008, 09:37 AM
Hi guys. I have a good (Vista) laptop which I want to wipe clean and install Ubuntu 8.04.1 on. I have never done this before and am fairly clueless. My question is what is the best way to completely wipe the laptop before I install Ubuntu? I have read about a program called dban which will nuke the drive, but I have also read about reformatting and am unsure if these are different things. If I use dban to nuke the drive does it then need formatting? If so how do I do that? Or will the Ubuntu CD do that?

Or, if I just stick the Ubuntu CD in, boot it up and click Install, will that clean the hard drive for me?

If it makes any difference, I would prefer the hard drive be safely cleaned, such that no data is retrievable.

Obv this is a very dumb question so thanks very much if you take the time to answer it.

September 20th, 2008, 09:39 AM
Installing Ubuntu using the entire disk will wipe out Vista just that easily, should that be your aim.

However, since it seems like you want to totally wipe out the drive first, you may want to look at zeroing it out (overwriting all data with zeros, then repartitioning it as needed).

Once the data's overwritten in such a way, there's no getting it back whatsoever.

September 20th, 2008, 09:41 AM
The above post is correct, and as an extra bit of info: the more you use the new install, the harder it is to retrieve any data from the Vista install, as you'll be writing over the bytes previously used to hold Vista data.

September 20th, 2008, 09:45 AM
If you wanted the drive to be clean before you install you could use dban

September 20th, 2008, 09:45 AM